Good dogs, Good truck

11 July 2014       2.30 PM      64 F      I can see blue, almost

As the miles roll on, the dogs and I are getting more relaxed. Even Katya decided that perhaps I wasn’t so bad after all, and deigned to join us in the fresh air eventually. The days tend to blur into each other, as there really isn’t much to distinguish between them. The further north we get, the more daylight we encounter too, which really means you either go by your watch and proper time, or else just wing it and go by your stomach, your bladder or the truck’s fuel tank. I had tentatively arranged to visit friends in Whitehorse, if I didn’t pass through town at the 2 in the morning,however with so many variables affecting the driving time, I pretty much put that to the back of my mind and went with the flow.
So, if I saw a nice parking spot to drop the dogs, I used it. If I wanted to have coffee and a delicious bagel from Timmie’s, I’d detour till I found one. Now, I’m not seeking sponsorship from anyone for our dogteam, but if any company wanted to do so, and if they happened to be called Tim Horton’s, then I’d be in heaven.
Passing through Fort St John and Fort Nelson on a lovely sunny day, knowing how much truly amazing countryside lies ahead is always a “we’re getting there” moment. The mountains are majestic, the surroundings amazing, the people population is minimal and even the traffic is greatly reduced. Equally delightful, as the miles rolled by, the bears seemed to determined to make themselves known. Did you know that bears like to eat dandelions? Well, I certainly didn’t, but I saw quite a few happily munching away on the bright yellow flowers at the side of the road.

Do you mind?  I'm having a snack.
Do you mind? I’m having a snack.
Oh look, another bear.
Oh look, another bear.

As well as bears, I saw several porcupines, a few moose and of course, the gigantic bison that decorate the stretch of road between Liard and Watson Lake. The main herd seem to travel together, but scattered across the 100 kilometres or so , are small groupings of young males, and occasionally a single bull who must consider mixing with the rest of the herd, as far beneath his status.

Tatanka !
Tatanka !

Heading up into Stone Mountain Provincial Park, the road was so quiet, that I managed to take a photograph that every time I have tried for before, I’ve had to abandon the attempt before I got squished by a large 18 wheeler barreling down the hill.

Daunting scenery
Daunting scenery

Another couple of hours driving looking at similar backdrops, I decided it was time for a long break. What prettier place than the side of Muncho Lake. The dogs got fed, and enjoyed the breeze and sunshine and attracted the attention of some passing tourists, who pulled over to ask lots of questions.

14 muncho home
Pretty Muncho Lake, amazing mountains and relaxed dogs

After a few hours, it was time to load up and move on. One of things I have learnt to do is to load the dogs, put everything away and then drive forward 4 feet before jumping back out and double checking that I haven’t left anything behind that I shouldn’t have – like say, a pile of dogbowls and water container. Not that I’ve ever done that, I just know a guy who might have!

The view in the morning from the roadside.
The view in the morning from the roadside.
Quick rest stop at Teslin
Quick rest stop at Teslin

More by luck than judgement, I found myself making the approach to Whitehorse in the late afternoon, perfect timing to go visit Jacob and Gwen at Grizzly Valley Kennel. Jacob also has Seppala Siberian Sleddogs, including the brother to Nik, who is on my truck. It was great to spend time with them, to get to meet his dogs, to swap stories and drink a couple of beers. Happily, Sedna felt relaxed enough to sleep quietly in the truck for our stay. The next morning, I was back on the road, and heading for Alaska. A smooth run, an easy border crossing and dinner at Fast Eddy’s in Tok.

On the road home, what a vista
On the road home, what a vista

One more night on the road, somewhere between Glenallan and Sheep Mountain, and it was one last run for home. It always seems to come quickly, after the days of driving and being outside, Wasilla seems like a bustling metropolis and then I am home. The truck performed perfectly, the dogs all did remarkably well – and considering that for most of them, this was their first time travelling any distance, they did it without real trouble, complaint or fuss. They ate and drank well, and aside from Sedna’s first night of noise, they took it all in their stride.
They were given a quick walk and then taken over to their new pen, where they’ll be segregated for a while, before being integrated into their new places.

A warm welcome to Gealach Mor Seppala Siberian Sleddogs for Nikola of Seppala, Inchounski of Seppala, Yekaterina of Seppala, Zuryanka of Seppala and Sedna of Seppala.

Leave a Reply

